Star Wars Universe Discussion [Split Topic]

What can I say? It doesn't fit above, put it here. Also the location of board rules/info.
Micamo
MVP
MVP

Star Wars Universe Discussion [Split Topic]

Post by Micamo » Sun 07 Sep 2014, 12:11

XXXVII wrote:Also *adjusts glasses* a Jedi is not faster than light. He is, instead, faster than the human wielding the gun and is possessed of a sixth sense to know where and when the shots will strike before they are fired thus he places his lightsaber in the way. Were a Jedi faster than light, he'd be unbeatable since he could simply kill an entire army before you could even see him.
***NERD WARNING***

Actually in the Expanded Universe things get really silly: Sufficiently powerful Jedi can use The Force to do whatever the writer of the current story wants them to be able to do, up to and including blowing up planets with a thought. I'm far from an expert in the EU, but I wouldn't be surprised if "Force Teleport" were a power a Jedi actually had at some point.
Edit: Modicone: Split from Technology in conworlds
My pronouns are <xie> [ʒiː] / <xer> [ʒɚ]

My shitty twitter
Salmoneus
MVP
MVP

Re: Technology in conworlds

Post by Salmoneus » Sun 07 Sep 2014, 12:16

Micamo wrote:
Squall wrote:In many cases the existence of technology, such as telephone, camera, fast transportation (airplanes) and internet, may make the world boring for stories. Fast transportation prevents dangerous journeys. Telephone allows one to call for help or tell the localization. Cameras make thefts difficult. If the weapons are so advanced, non-nuclear wars will not be possible.
This is a misconception: Technologies close off some story possiblities, but open others. Try to tell a story about hackers without the internet, or about fighter pilots without airplanes, or about a bomb threat with no reliable explosives.