First conlang advice and tips

If you're new to these arts, this is the place to ask "stupid" questions and get directions!
Aleks
cuneiform
cuneiform

First conlang advice and tips

Post by Aleks » Sat 20 Jun 2015, 20:21

I am new to conlanging and thought I would share my conlang which is in it's baby stage and still a work in progress. It's intended to be a Romance language with Slavic influence much like Romanian albeit more Slavic like. Also with a bit alien like with new root words and ones I just happened to make up. Some tips and help in a basic terms would help as I don't know about linguistics much.

The language is spoken by people on an alternate version of Earth where the Russia equivalent is a super power. This is the reason why it has a strong slavic influence. I will also try to do other conlangs if I can even make this one. Would like to try to do a Germanic language as well.

Proto Des Xeli Alphabet
Aa Ăă Áá Вв Сс Ĉĉ Dd Ee Êê Éé Ff Gg Ĝĝ Ii Íí Jj Жж Ll Ĺĺ Мм Ии Oo Pp Rr Ŗŗ Ss Şş Tt Ţţ Uu Vv Xx Zz Žž Яя Юю

Dic Xeli / Dixelyi Alphabet
Aa Ăă Bb Сс Ĉĉ Dd Ee Êê Ff Gg Ĝĝ Ii Kk Ll Ĺĺ Мм Nn Oo Pp Rr Ŗŗ Ss Šš Tt Uu Vv Xx Zz Žž

Consonants
/m n/ <m n>
/p b t d k g/ <p b t d k g>
/ts tʃ d͡ʒ/ <c č j>
/f v s z ʃ ʒ/ <f v s z š ž>
/l w/ <l u>
/r/ <r> trilled

/ln mr/ <ĺ ŗ>

Vowels
Front i e <i e>
Central ə a <ă a>
Back ɯ u o <ý u o>

Diphtongs
/aʊ/ <au>
/eɪ/ <ei>
/aɪ/ <ai>
/ɔɪ/ <oi>
/ɪa/ <ia>
/ɪu/ <iu>
/ɪe/ <ie>
/ɪi/ <ii>

Google Doc
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1vOC ... sp=sharing

Phonological rule regarding <iu ia ii>
<ia iu ii> only appear at the end of a word and not followed by a consonant.

Syllable structure I want is (C)CV(C) or (C)CV(V)

Sample sentences
The stars is where they came from, the ones who spoke the language given to us.
Dic xeli os kuanz deu vena sin, doč unau kuale gaincina des linva daina fa noiă

The beautiful women of France love to dance the night away in the castle.