Science fiction writer - Fith and Mandarin

If you're new to these arts, this is the place to ask "stupid" questions and get directions!
Nick Tchan
rupestrian
rupestrian

Science fiction writer - Fith and Mandarin

Post by Nick Tchan » Fri 29 Apr 2016, 06:52

Hi,

I’m a budding science fiction writer and I’m working on a short story/novella. Bibliography’s mostly in short story venues such as Writers of the Future, Lightspeed, etc.

As a bit of background, I only speak English and I wasn’t taught any sort of grammar when I was at school. I have no background in linguistics or conlangs.

In the middle of time wasting on the internet, I recently came across Jeffery Henning's concepts for Fith. While I don't really grasp everything that's been done and how it truly works, it appears absolutely fascinating and something I'd like to explore further.

I tried emailing Mr Henning's about Fith, but the email address appears to be defunct.

*EDIT* what I'd like to know is whether I've correctly understood Fith and how mistakes might carry across from Fith to Mandarin.

Basic premise of the story is that there are children that are really aliens, but which appear to be orphaned Chinese children. (The focus on the stories is on a relationship between husband and wife, but this is in the background).

To outsiders, the children communicate in Mandarin. I thought that these children would natively speak a stack-like language (i.e. basically Fith). My very rudimentary understanding of Fith language is that it ends a stack/sentence with a word indicating that it is finished (and you can then start to parse the stack for meaning; any time before this is finished, the meaning of the sentence is still open).