(EE) Q&A Thread - Quick questions go here

What can I say? It doesn't fit above, put it here. Also the location of board rules/info.
User avatar
Creyeditor
mongolian
mongolian
Posts: 4478
Joined: 14 Aug 2012 19:32

Re: (EE) Q&A Thread - Quick questions go here

Post by Creyeditor » 25 Jul 2016 17:26

shimobaatar wrote:Thank you all for your advice, but I really meant to ask about how to make these kinds of tables:

Code: Select all

a b c
b
c
Well, the code environment uses a fixed-width font, i.e. you can count vertical and horizontal distance by counting letters and spaces. Let's say you want a table with three columns (and rows). Each column should be able to contain words with three letters. There should be a space between each column. That means that you need a width of (3+1)+(3+1)+(3+1)=12. An example could look like this. It is important to use spaces instead of tabs.

Code: Select all

HEA HEA HEA
123 123 123 
123 456 789
101 112 131
456 789 123 
Creyeditor
"Thoughts are free."
Produce, Analyze, Manipulate
1 :deu: 2 :eng: 3 :idn: 4 :fra: 4 :esp:
:con: Ook & Omlűt & Nautli languages & Sperenjas
[<3] Papuan languages, Morphophonology, Lexical Semantics [<3]

User avatar
OTʜᴇB
roman
roman
Posts: 960
Joined: 14 May 2016 11:59
Location: SW England

Re: (EE) Q&A Thread - Quick questions go here

Post by OTʜᴇB » 25 Jul 2016 17:32

They should really add in some [table] BBcode stuff. Then a user could create a table like this:
[table]
[th][td rowspan=2]Heading[/td][/th]
[tr][td]a[/td][td]b[/td][/tr]
[tr][td]c[/td][td]d[/td][/tr]
[tr][td]e[/td][td]f[/td][/tr]
[/table]

That then coming out looking a bit like this:

Code: Select all

| Heading |
| a  | b  |
| c  | d  |
| e  | f  |
:con: : Current Project

BTW I use Arch

User avatar
k1234567890y
runic
runic
Posts: 3048
Joined: 04 Jan 2014 04:47
Contact:

Re: (EE) Q&A Thread - Quick questions go here

Post by k1234567890y » 25 Jul 2016 17:39

OTheB wrote:They should really add in some [table] BBcode stuff. Then a user could create a table like this:
[table]
[th][td rowspan=2]Heading[/td][/th]
[tr][td]a[/td][td]b[/td][/tr]
[tr][td]c[/td][td]d[/td][/tr]
[tr][td]e[/td][td]f[/td][/tr]
[/table]

That then coming out looking a bit like this:

Code: Select all

| Heading |
| a  | b  |
| c  | d  |
| e  | f  |
we should tell the developers of phpBB to develop table codes?
...

User avatar
Dormouse559
moderator
moderator
Posts: 2774
Joined: 10 Nov 2012 20:52
Location: California

Re: (EE) Q&A Thread - Quick questions go here

Post by Dormouse559 » 25 Jul 2016 21:35

shimobaatar wrote:Thank you all for your advice, but I really meant to ask about how to make these kinds of tables:

Code: Select all

a b c
b
c
That's not too tough to make if you have a word processor. Just make a document and set a fixed-width font, like Courier.

Then decide what column widths you want/need in terms of characters. This part is the only place where you need any kind of math. Take the first entry/label from the first column and subtract its number of characters from the total characters in that column (e.g. present = 7 characters, total width = 10 characters; 10 - 7 = 3). Then type the entry and add spaces equal to the result of the subtraction (e.g. present + [3 spaces]). Repeat for each column.

For the remaining rows, you only have to type an entry, then add enough spaces to line up visually with the next column.

To post the finished table, copy-paste it between code tags on the forum. I like to preview the result before posting, just to make sure there aren't any stray spaces.

I made all my Silvish verb conjugation tables this way.

shimobaatar
korean
korean
Posts: 11459
Joined: 12 Jul 2013 23:09
Location: PA → IN

Re: (EE) Q&A Thread - Quick questions go here

Post by shimobaatar » 25 Jul 2016 23:07

Creyeditor wrote:
Spoiler:
Well, the code environment uses a fixed-width font, i.e. you can count vertical and horizontal distance by counting letters and spaces. Let's say you want a table with three columns (and rows). Each column should be able to contain words with three letters. There should be a space between each column. That means that you need a width of (3+1)+(3+1)+(3+1)=12. An example could look like this. It is important to use spaces instead of tabs.

Code: Select all

HEA HEA HEA
123 123 123 
123 456 789
101 112 131
456 789 123 
Dormouse559 wrote:
Spoiler:
That's not too tough to make if you have a word processor. Just make a document and set a fixed-width font, like Courier.

Then decide what column widths you want/need in terms of characters. This part is the only place where you need any kind of math. Take the first entry/label from the first column and subtract its number of characters from the total characters in that column (e.g. present = 7 characters, total width = 10 characters; 10 - 7 = 3). Then type the entry and add spaces equal to the result of the subtraction (e.g. present + [3 spaces]). Repeat for each column.

For the remaining rows, you only have to type an entry, then add enough spaces to line up visually with the next column.

To post the finished table, copy-paste it between code tags on the forum. I like to preview the result before posting, just to make sure there aren't any stray spaces.

I made all my Silvish verb conjugation tables this way.
Thanks again to everyone for the advice.

User avatar
GrandPiano
runic
runic
Posts: 2638
Joined: 11 Jan 2015 23:22
Location: Ohio, USA

Re: (EE) Q&A Thread - Quick questions go here

Post by GrandPiano » 07 Sep 2016 14:39

Why is "rou" the code for the Romanian flag? Neither the English words "Romania" and "Romanian" nor the Romanian words "România" and "română" have a "u" in them.
:eng: - Native
:chn: - B2
:esp: - A2
:jpn: - A2

shimobaatar
korean
korean
Posts: 11459
Joined: 12 Jul 2013 23:09
Location: PA → IN

Re: (EE) Q&A Thread - Quick questions go here

Post by shimobaatar » 07 Sep 2016 18:33

GrandPiano wrote:Why is "rou" the code for the Romanian flag? Neither the English words "Romania" and "Romanian" nor the Romanian words "România" and "română" have a "u" in them.
According to Wikipedia, that's Romania's three-letter ISO country code, which was derived from the country's French name, "Roumanie".

User avatar
GrandPiano
runic
runic
Posts: 2638
Joined: 11 Jan 2015 23:22
Location: Ohio, USA

Re: (EE) Q&A Thread - Quick questions go here

Post by GrandPiano » 07 Sep 2016 21:20

OK, that makes sense. Thanks!
:eng: - Native
:chn: - B2
:esp: - A2
:jpn: - A2

User avatar
Firebird766
cuneiform
cuneiform
Posts: 168
Joined: 14 Oct 2014 02:13

Re: (EE) Q&A Thread - Quick questions go here

Post by Firebird766 » 08 Sep 2016 21:25

Is there a rule about necroing posts? If I see a thread in the Conworlding forum I want to respond to, how long ago can the last post be?

User avatar
MrKrov
banned
Posts: 2389
Joined: 12 Aug 2010 02:47
Location: /ai/ > /a:/
Contact:

Re: (EE) Q&A Thread - Quick questions go here

Post by MrKrov » 08 Sep 2016 22:07

There's not really. Just keep it pertinent.

User avatar
alynnidalar
roman
roman
Posts: 1034
Joined: 17 Aug 2014 03:22
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: (EE) Q&A Thread - Quick questions go here

Post by alynnidalar » 09 Sep 2016 15:08

If you're just bumping a thread to say something like "I agree" or to respond to an argument that ended three years ago, don't do it. But if you have something of substance to add, go ahead!

Khemehekis
mayan
mayan
Posts: 2288
Joined: 14 Aug 2010 09:36
Location: California über alles

Re: (EE) Q&A Thread - Quick questions go here

Post by Khemehekis » 25 Oct 2016 07:28

I've seen Romance-language-teaching cards where Romanian is spelt "Roumanian". Apparently it's an alternative spelling even in English.
♂♥♂♀

Squirrels chase koi . . . chase squirrels

My Kankonian-English dictionary: 60,000 words and counting

31,416: The number of the conlanging beast!

Keenir
mayan
mayan
Posts: 2378
Joined: 22 May 2012 03:05

Re: (EE) Q&A Thread - Quick questions go here

Post by Keenir » 16 Jan 2017 08:10

Not long ago, I saw a photo thread (not hereabouts) that took a screenshot of a uniform from Star Wars: The Force Awakens, and then, using the Star Wars universe's alphabet, showed that it read This End Up.

But I've gone looking through various Star Wars books (the atlas, the guide to the history of warfare, Jedi vs Sith, etc)...and none of them show the Star Wars alphabet.

So, is that alphabet , with each symbol representing one English letter, actually more fanon than canon?


thank you.
At work on Apaan: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=4799

clawgrip
MVP
MVP
Posts: 2384
Joined: 24 Jun 2012 07:33
Location: Tokyo

Re: (EE) Q&A Thread - Quick questions go here

Post by clawgrip » 18 Jan 2017 14:59

I assume you mean Aurebesh. The alphabet itself is canon, having first appeared fairly prominently in Return of the Jedi, and getting specialeditionized into the other ones. I guess your question though is, are the values assigned to each character canon or not.

I looked at the standard values given for Aurebesh in images on the internet, and then compared them to a screen readout from the beginning of Return of the Jedi. The values returned nonsense (e.g. "meonghm yqxaej eonghmn"), and since I am sure they did not create a whole constructed written language for a couple computer screens when the spoken language clearly is English, it does not appear that the standard values of Aurebesh apply to Return of the Jedi. However, the image you reference, Poe Dameron's vest, does in fact say "pull to inflate" in Aurebesh using the circulated readings, and even the special edition of A New Hope uses Aurebesh as a cipher of English. So, since it appeared in more than one canon Star Wars film, it appears that yes, it is canon.

Also, several of the letters in RotJ differ in appearance from the ones that appear in other films. I'm almost certain this is what happened:

When they started making the special editions, they decided that they wanted to replace all English labels with the alphabet from RotJ. However, a decade had passed since that film was made, and most likely they could find no records of what the letters of the original alphabet actually stood for. Wanting to preserve visual consistency but not caring for coherence of some random symbols, someone probably put on RotJ and paused it in the parts with the alphabet, wrote down all the symbols they saw by hand (accounting for the distortion of several of the letters), and then randomly assigned Latin alphabet values to them, which are consistent with the internet images and their appearances in the actual Star Wars films.

What might be fun is to look at the original RotJ images and try to decipher what the original values of the letters were, if they actually had any to begin with.

EDIT: I was slightly wrong, and my thing seems to have been answered:
Wookieepedia wrote:An Aurebesh-like script first appeared in the 1983 movie Star Wars: Episode VI Return of the Jedi, the last installment in the original trilogy of Star Wars. It could be seen on monitor readouts on the second Death Star at the beginning of the movie, when Darth Vader's shuttle is scanned while approaching the battle station. Erik Schroeder's decoding of the technical readouts further suggest that this readout is illegible, consisting of lines of character repeats.[5] However, it was Stephen Crane of West End Games who gave each character a name and a corresponding Roman letter or letter combination. At the time, West End Games's flagship product was the Star Wars Roleplaying Game. While he was writing the Star Wars Miniatures Battles Companion in 1993, Crane decided to develop an alphabet for gamers to use. Upon receiving Lucasfilm's approval, Crane came up with the "Aurebesh," a 34-letter alphabet. It was later expanded to include punctuation marks in Imperial Entanglements, a 1996 supplement to Miniatures Battles.[6]

Stephen Crane's alphabet was subsequently adopted in many Star Wars works, and even made its way into the movies.
Anyway, I suspect Stephen Crane did what I said, pausing the movie and writing down by hand what he saw in order to create the new version of the alphabet.

Keenir
mayan
mayan
Posts: 2378
Joined: 22 May 2012 03:05

Re: (EE) Q&A Thread - Quick questions go here

Post by Keenir » 18 Jan 2017 16:22

clawgrip wrote:I assume you mean Aurebesh. The alphabet itself is canon, having first appeared fairly prominently in Return of the Jedi, and getting specialeditionized into the other ones. I guess your question though is, are the values assigned to each character canon or not.
yes; sorry.
it does not appear that the standard values of Aurebesh apply to Return of the Jedi. However, the image you reference, Poe Dameron's vest, does in fact say "pull to inflate" in Aurebesh using the circulated readings, and even the special edition of A New Hope uses Aurebesh as a cipher of English. So, since it appeared in more than one canon Star Wars film, it appears that yes, it is canon.
thank you.

hm...a 34-letter alphabet and a 24-letter one. in-universe, it'd make sense, whether one is a coded transmission or another language.
At work on Apaan: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=4799

User avatar
OTʜᴇB
roman
roman
Posts: 960
Joined: 14 May 2016 11:59
Location: SW England

Re: (EE) Q&A Thread - Quick questions go here

Post by OTʜᴇB » 04 Apr 2017 20:52

Anyone here using LaTeX? I'm thinking about how I should go about putting in vector images for the writing system, but keeping them together and out of the way. If someone else here has done such a thing, how did you do it?
:con: : Current Project

BTW I use Arch

User avatar
Adarain
greek
greek
Posts: 654
Joined: 03 Jul 2015 15:36
Location: Switzerland, usually

Re: (EE) Q&A Thread - Quick questions go here

Post by Adarain » 04 Apr 2017 21:45

As far as I'm aware, it isn't very easy to get vector graphics into a LaTeX doc. You're probably best off converting them into pngs of a desirably high resolution and scaling them down in the document to the appropriate size. Alternatively, you could probably hack something together in tikz, but I expect it to be too much of a pain to be worth the effort. Perhaps there are svg to tikz converters though, i haven't looked into it.
Edit: It appears that indeed there are. This one seems to allow you to export tikz straight from inkscape.
At kveldi skal dag lęyfa,
Konu es bręnnd es,
Mæki es ręyndr es,
Męy es gefin es,
Ís es yfir kømr,
Ǫl es drukkit es.

User avatar
gach
MVP
MVP
Posts: 702
Joined: 07 Aug 2013 01:26
Location: displaced from Helsinki

Re: (EE) Q&A Thread - Quick questions go here

Post by gach » 04 Apr 2017 23:05

You better read the Wikibooks entry on importing graphics in LaTeX. The graphicx package is the way to include graphics in LaTeX documents. I use it all the time to do larger figures, mostly from graphic files in the PS or EPS formats, but I see no reason why you couldn't use it to typeset short snippets in a conscript as inline figures in the middle of normal text. Just make sure that the figures have a proper size to line well with the rest of the text.

Very basically, you should add the line

Code: Select all

\usepackage{graphicx}
to the preamble of your document and then include the images at their correct places with something resembling

Code: Select all

\includegraphics[height=<suitable height for the image>]{<image file>}
You'll probably have to try a few times to find good sizes for the images.

This approach should work fine for the most simple tasks of piling script block one after another, but if you want to achieve anything more complicated than that, I'd say that you are immediately better of spending the time to create an actual font.
ImageKištaLkal sikSeic

User avatar
OTʜᴇB
roman
roman
Posts: 960
Joined: 14 May 2016 11:59
Location: SW England

Re: (EE) Q&A Thread - Quick questions go here

Post by OTʜᴇB » 05 Apr 2017 18:35

gach wrote:You better read the Wikibooks entry on importing graphics in LaTeX. The graphicx package is the way to include graphics in LaTeX documents. I use it all the time to do larger figures, mostly from graphic files in the PS or EPS formats, but I see no reason why you couldn't use it to typeset short snippets in a conscript as inline figures in the middle of normal text. Just make sure that the figures have a proper size to line well with the rest of the text.

Very basically, you should add the line

Code: Select all

\usepackage{graphicx}
to the preamble of your document and then include the images at their correct places with something resembling

Code: Select all

\includegraphics[height=<suitable height for the image>]{<image file>}
You'll probably have to try a few times to find good sizes for the images.

This approach should work fine for the most simple tasks of piling script block one after another, but if you want to achieve anything more complicated than that, I'd say that you are immediately better of spending the time to create an actual font.
Yeah I think a font would probably be the best approach. I'm fine with including the graphics, but the problem I'm facing is getting them lined up with correct spacing - and then the challenge of getting them vertical (vertical script) and having the text go around it and not leave a huge gap in the page where this vertical line of symbols is.
:con: : Current Project

BTW I use Arch

User avatar
Dezinaa
roman
roman
Posts: 886
Joined: 13 Oct 2013 20:33
Location: tunta, àn paànmúnu’ai

Re: (EE) Q&A Thread - Quick questions go here

Post by Dezinaa » 24 May 2017 05:35

This is probably the wrong website to ask this, but I don't know where to even start looking. I'm looking for software that lets me play music using custom frequencies in Hz for each note in the scale, and that also lets me create equal tempered scales with different numbers of notes. I just calculated the notes for a 7-tone equal tempered scale and a 10-tone equal tempered scale, but I have no easy way to play them. I can generate waveforms of specific frequencies, then arrange them in an audio editing program, but I can't "play" music. I also have no way of tuning an electronic instrument to play these custom scales. Maybe I'm rambling, or this is just wishful thinking, but any and all help would be appreciated.

Post Reply