The Takur languages

A forum for all topics related to constructed languages
Yrusia
hieroglyphic
hieroglyphic

The Takur languages

Post by Yrusia » 04 Sep 2019 10:40

Hi all! Long-time listener, (basically) first time caller. This thread will be about a family of languages I’ve been working on since late 2017. I started working on Proto-Takur, or Project Lily, in this speedlanging challenge in 2017, but coming on 2 years now, it’s by no means a speedlang anymore. In-universe, Proto-Takur was spoken by a seafaring culture that eventually came to settle the northern half of the continent of Tíkrí (also called Ǎt Tír, amongst other names). The Takur family has 4 main descendants, which will eventually hopefully become parent languages of their own daughter families. In this post, I’ll outline the phonology and some basic grammar of 2 closely related daughter languages: Ottóxzhé Gédkerna (called Gédkerna or Gédker for short), and Old Tuókěn.

Ottóxzhé Gétkerna, literally, The Speech of the People of Tégré(=Tíkrí), is spoken among the highlands in the center of the continent. Gétkerna culture features a strong horse-riding culture, but of the vocabulary for animal domestication (and, for that matter, many large animals) come from heavy influence from a substrate language that I’m never going to make was never recorded.

Consonants
/m n ɲ/ m n ñ
/p tʰ t kʰ k ʔ/ b t d k g '
/f s z ʃ ʒ x ɣ/ f s z sh zh x ɣ
/ɾ j w/ r y w

Aspirated and nonaspirated stops are only contrastive before vowels or at the end of a word.

Stops can also be geminated, usually from an adjacent fricative (e.g. ottóxzhé 'speech, language', from Project Lily *ztó'osé).

Vowels
/ɐ e~ə~ɪ ʌ/ a e o
/aː eː oː/ aa ee oo
/a͡ɪ e͡ɪ o͡ɪ/ ai ei oi

All vowels can also be nasalised:
/ɐ̃ ẽ~ə̃~ɪ̃ ʌ̃/ ą ę į
etc.

/e eː/ is much more common than other vowels, so there is significant allophony based on tone and stress, but I haven't totally worked out the kinks yet.

Tone
Short vowels are either high or low tone: